skip navigation
Wresting for peace

Men's Freestyle

USA Wrestling


A Legacy of Success

The USA men’s freestyle program has never been far from the top.  With 110 Olympic medals in total (49 Gold), men’s freestyle wrestling is not only one of the most successful medal-producing disciplines within the United States Olympic family, but one of the most prolific wrestling programs in the world.  Since Dan Gable, Wayne Wells, and Ben Peterson brought home Olympic Gold in 1972, the men’s freestyle program has won at least one gold medal  in every Olympics it has competed in; the most recent “Gold Rush” coming from Jordan Burroughs and Jake Varner in the 2012 London Games. 

 In addition to its Olympic excellence, the men’s freestyle program won the world championships as a team in both 1993 and 1995, led by 2-time Olympic Gold medalist and 9-time World medalist, Bruce Baumgartner.  In total, the U.S. men’s freestyle program has won 219 world medals (53 Gold).  No USA wrestler has ever brought home more gold medals in world competition than 2-time Olympic champion and 4-time world champion, John Smith (between 1988 and 1993).  Most recently, men’s freestyle added two bronze medals to that count from Jordan Burroughs and Tervel Dlagnev at the 2014 World Championships in Tashkent, Uzbekistan. 

2015 proved to be a stellar year at the World Championships in Las Vegas, NV. Jordan Burroughs strikes gold along with Kyle Snyder the youngest World Champion in US history!

2016 Olympics in Rio proved that Kyle Snyder is the real deal.  Once again gold was in his future.  He is the 50th American to win Olympic gold in Men's Freestyle.  Up and coming wrestler J'Den Cox also had an amazing year by capturing a bronze medal.  

Congratulations!  We are proud of all of our wrestlers!